The Nanoscale World

Nanoindentation using Dimension edge AFM (point spectroscopy)

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 7 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 150 Contributor
8 Posts
Points 92
Aarthi posted on Tue, Jan 29 2013 10:57 AM

Hi,

I am trying to do nanoindentation on  flat metal tapes with a Dimension Edge AFM using Point Spectroscopy. The main purpose of doing this is to measure the hardness of oxide films deposited on the metal tape. I have a PDNISP-HS probe.  I understand that I first have to calibrate the sensitivity, and then do a thermal tune to calculate the spring constant to get force vs. displacement curves when doing point spectroscopy. But, since I am new to this I have a few questions:
1. What ramp rates should I start with? The help menu in the AFM suggests to use +/- 5 um (+999 to -999) as Z end and start respectively, which automatically adjusts the ramp rates to about 2 um/sec.
2. Is adjusting the trigger voltage same as adjusting the load? What is the different between changing the trigger voltage and changing the setpoint to vary the load?
3. Is it recommended to use tapping mode point spectroscopy over contact mode, since my samples are metal tapes?
4. What is the effect of adjusting the cycle hold time?
5. After doing point spectroscopy, can the same probe (PDNISP-HS) be used to image the sample?

I appreciate any feedback provided!

Thank you.

• | Post Points: 12

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Answered (Verified) replied on Thu, Jan 31 2013 7:39 PM
Verified by Aarthi

Hi Aarthi,

Let me take a stab at this:

Before performing force curves make sure that i) You select "relative movements" and turn the "linearizer, closed loop z" on. Realtive movements will relate all distances you type into the SW to the actual z-position at setpoint, i.e. the z-position at setpoint is set as "zero" and  negative numbers are away from the surface.