The Nanoscale World

Thermal tune questions

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Top 75 Contributor
15 Posts
Points 176
tibs posted on Tue, Jun 4 2013 5:05 PM

I am new to force measurements and I am having trouble with the thermal tune method to calibrate the cantilever's spring constant. I would appreciate any help.

I am using TESP probes with a D3100 system and Nanoscope software v7.30.

I start by calibrating the deflection sensitivity on a silicon wafer, typically getting values around 37 nm/V. (from TM deflection vs. Z plots)

1. Is a deflection sensitivity of 37 nm/V seem correct for a TESP tip? Are there any rules of thumb for what to expect for this type of probe or others?

Then I withdraw the tip and open the thermal tune window.

The deflection sensitivity that I just updated through the software does not seem to be automatically updated in the thermal tune parameter list.

2. Is it normal for the just-updated deflection sensitivity to not be automatically entered in the thermal tune parameter list? If so, I should update it manually, then, right?

3. Should the thermal tune frequency range be selected based on the resonant frequency of the probe (e.g. TESP is nominally 320 kHz, so use the 5-2000 kHz range)?

I've tried both ranges and I think I see something that may be a peak around the resonant frequency of the TESP tip, but it is hard to tell for sure:

All the manuals I've seen about thermal tune seem to show a nice big obvious curve with a flat baseline, but that is not really what I am getting.

4. Does the above data look normal?

5. Is there a way to zoom in on the data in the plot, specifically the horizontal axis?

I think it would help if I could zoom in on the data, but I can't figure out how. One manual I saw had a magnifying glass button in the thermal tune window, but I don't seem to have that in this version.