The Nanoscale World

TUNA on oxides?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 7 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
4 Posts
Points 48
jhurst posted on Fri, Sep 23 2011 10:36 AM

I am new to electrical measurements on the AFM and have been recently used our TUNA module on oxides (10-100 Ang.) for investigating breakdown.  I have two main questions for anyone who has experience with these measurements. 

(1) I've started to come to the conclusion that I am only able to perform relative (non quantitative) comparisons between samples provided my tip and measurement conditions are the same.  My biggest worries with these measurements is tip wear (I will soon get a tip check sample for checking the shape) and applied force.  Any indication on how many samples one may typically measure and still make comparisons (I am using the SCM-PIC tip)?  Also, is there a procedure for minimizing the force even with applying varying bias to minimize tip wear and do this reproducibly to still make sample-sample comparisons. 

(2) What methods data collection work the best to move towards getting quantified results, i.e.  most straightforward to get reliable data for extracting thickness, barrier magnitude, ...?  Currently I compare scanned TUNA current images at a particular bias but have noticed these are not the same values obtained from IV curves -- even varying the voltage ramp for IV measurements (an offset due to cap.?) gives varied  results.

• | Post Points: 12

All Replies

Answered (Not Verified) replied on Fri, Sep 23 2011 3:42 PM

Hi Jhurst,