Top 50 Contributor
24 Posts
Points 285
Don Chernoff posted on Tue, Jan 22 2013 9:59 PM

I'm studying nanoparticles in aqueous solution.  The particles are in the

range 1-5 nm diameter.  My task is to image them by AFM and to measure the

height of many individual particles.  The sample preparation procedure is

basically to apply a droplet of the suspension to freshly cleaved mica,

rinse and dry with nitrogen gas.  The AFM images are made in air at room temperature using

TappingMode (intermittent contact) and obtain nice images. However, blank

samples prepared from the ultrapure water used as diluent and as rinse water

also show some particles.

I have tried more than 3 different samples of ultrapure water produced using

Milli-Q water purification systems at 3 different labs and gotten similar

results.

I believe that other people have had similar problems.  I found a thread on this forum dated Jan 7, 2010.  The poster recommended BPC Grade water from Sigma (W3513 - Biotechnology Performance Certified) and also mentioned “The other source of impurities we found was the nitrogen stream used to dry the samples after washing. What exactly these particulates are we never found out, but by  running the nitrogen through a simple, home-made bubble trap, they largely went away.”

Can someone tell me what is meant by “bubble trap” and what type of filter one should use for the nitrogen stream?

I welcome all answers and comments.

• | Post Points: 12

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
29 Posts
Points 319

The water I use is "water for molecular biology", the item code for this is W4502.
If this differs from W3513, I cannot be sure, it looks quite similar on the sigma site. But I have tried another water they sold "water for cell culture" W3500, and it was not as good as W4502.