rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 3 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
14 Posts
Points 158
Bruker Employee
DigestMigrator posted on Fri, May 21 2010 1:13 PM

Hi everyone,
I'm new to SPM and new to this forum.  I am looking at measuring the surface roughness of single fibres with diameters ranging from about 13 to 20 microns.  I'm looking at measuring the roughness over a 5 micron area, but due to the curvature of the fibre I need to flat the area first.  In the manual, the instructions say to flatten then do a planefit.  I get different roughness results when I use a 3 order flattening or 3 order planefit.  However when I flatten first, any subsequent planefits do not change the result.  When I planefit first, then flatten, I get the same result as just flattening.  So should I ignore planefitting and just flatten?

Linda

Linda.Hillbrick@csiro.au

• | Post Points: 14

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
29 Posts
Points 319

Dear Linda,

I suspect the main reason for what you are seeing is that Veeco software generally  applies a planefit to your files when they are saved by the acquisition software. Thus, planefitting after wards does nothing. YOu can actually turn this off in the Nanoscope acquisition module, but in most cases, it does not do any harm having it turned on. Now, in your particualr case, you are looking at samples which will be curved by default (fibres). So, a "curved" fitting (or flattening) is ideal. I suspect that 2nd order polynomial fitting (called "flatten" in the nanoscope analysis module), would be best for you, but you might find 3rd order better. In anycase, the most important thing is thatfor roughness, you must always appy the same protocaol before measurement of roughness parameters. As you noticed, you get different values depending on how the data is treated beforehand.