The Nanoscale World

Question about auto tune/spring constant tuning

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 1 Reply | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
1 Posts
Points 12
Charles Ang posted on Sat, Jun 15 2013 11:06 AM

Hi, I'm a masters student writing my thesis and I had a question regarding the Bioscope AFM.

I just wanted to know if there was more information or literature available on the autotune function, as well as the spring constant tuning function.

I know that the numbers given on the AFM probe information sheets are only nominal, thus requiring  individual confirmation.  I also know that there is a thermal method for the determination of spring constant, but am not sure if that is what the AFM system uses.

However, now that I'm writing my thesis, I wanted more information on the background of these functions, and specifically had the question about whether these functions would still work appropriately in liquid.

If there was any further information on this, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,

Charles Ang

• | Post Points: 12

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
30 Posts
Points 397
Bruker Employee

Hi Charles,

If you are using a BioScope II or Catalyst system, it does have the ability to use the thermal tune method for calibration of spring constant. If I recall correctly the BioScope SZ system may also have thermal tune capabilities with the Nanoscope IV controller - although the thermal tune would not be able to go to as high frequencies as the Nanoscope V controller (which is not really an issue for most probes used in fluid).