Probe selection in Force Volume/Contact Mode

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 4 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 46
HarryC posted on Fri, Aug 20 2010 3:13 PM

Hello,

I am new to AFM and am trying to collect some mechanical property information on a sample of photoresist (has been developed, hardened)

I have a supply of SNL-10 probes which I believe would suit my needs for contact mode Force Imaging/Force Volume measurements.

This may be a silly question, but I don't know what precautions I need to take with a probe that has 4 cantilevers on it. Does it require a special holder? How are you able to preserve the other 4 tips while using one for analysis?

After that I have read through the instructions and I feel they are fairly complete... although it may be that I will have some followup questions, also any advice is welcome!

Thanks,
Harry

Also, I am working on a Dimension ICON system

• | Post Points: 12

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 10 Contributor
280 Posts
Points 6,221
Bruker Employee
Verified by HarryC

SNL-10 probes should work fine for imaging photoresist in contact mode or for doing adhesion maps in force volume mode.  It is likely that the photoresist is too stiff to get good elasticity information with those probes, however.  You should give it a try, but I suspect you will not have much deformation of the sample.

Peak Force Tapping gives you significantly higher resolution and better force control, but you still need to deform the sample if you want to measure the modulus.

There are no special precautions, but you typically only get to use one of the probes from each substrate.  Some people actually intentionally break off the others using tweezers and a microscope, but I have not found this to matter in most cases.

Good luck!

--Bede

All Replies

Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 46
HarryC replied on Fri, Aug 20 2010 3:22 PM