The Nanoscale World

CAFM

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 11 Replies | 2 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
9 Posts
Points 100
Benjamin Voelcker posted on Tue, Oct 18 2011 11:09 AM

I am new to CAFM as i was reading through the manual it said that i need to check the signal using a 10 M-ohm resistor? Is this step mandatory? Do you have to set up a bias reference of some-sort before you perform a I/V scan on a material?

• | Post Points: 14

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Answered (Verified) replied on Tue, Oct 18 2011 11:18 AM
Verified by Benjamin Voelcker

Benjamin,

That check is not mandatory but a useful step when troubleshooting your system. Not sure what you exactly refer to by "bias reference". One of the biggest variables in CAFM is the tip, or more precisely the change in conductivity of the tip. There has bee quite some discussion on this board in the past on that matter that a search should reveal.

Stefan

All Replies

Answered (Verified) replied on Tue, Oct 18 2011 11:18 AM
Verified by Benjamin Voelcker

Benjamin,

That check is not mandatory but a useful step when troubleshooting your system. Not sure what you exactly refer to by "bias reference". One of the biggest variables in CAFM is the tip, or more precisely the change in conductivity of the tip. There has bee quite some discussion on this board in the past on that matter that a search should reveal.

Stefan

Top 100 Contributor
9 Posts
Points 100

Thank you for the suggestion. I am very new to this method. I will have to research some more. If there are any key terms people know of that has been helpful for them. It seems like a trail and error just getting that connection right for the samples.

• | Post Points: 10
Top 100 Contributor
9 Posts
Points 100

Also what method is the best for attaching a test sample to the metal disk? I am currently using an Innova system and we used double sided tape does this insulate the material from being conductive?